“My grandfather is as cool as Beyoncé”

I have just finished watching a TED Talk by Vincent Moon and Naná Vasconcelos, about ‘Hidden music rituals around the world’. In it, Vincent gives an eloquent exposition of how he is able to capture unique and emotive musical performances. These range from a powerful Sufi ritual in Chechnya to a hallucinogenic ayahuasca journey in Peru.

Through the lens that he brings to these vocal and visual displays, he says, “I just want to represent them in a beautiful light. I just want to portray them in a way that their grandchildren are going to look at their grandfather, and they’re going to be like, “Whoa, my grandfather is as cool as Beyoncé.” To substantiate this, Vincent’s talk was then followed by a captivating musical performance by the internationally-renowned Brazilian musician Naná Vasconcelos. I leave you with an sampling of his enthralling and culturally uplifting music, ‘Batuque nas Águas’:

“Batuque nas Águas” by Naná Vasconcelos

As a postscript, I must add that I have endeavoured to find a non-youtube link for this post, as I was reminded yesterday that youtube is still banned in a number of countries. Whilst, I find it disturbing to hear of such a useful site being censored, I must admit that I’m thrilled about my viewership coming from all over the world! Thank you for your feedback about my blog. Please keep your comments coming in as I strive to improve my writing.

Saneeya Qureshi © 2014

Leave a Reply

