Help fight the ‘Bola’

I came upon this video produced by UNICEF today – a wonderfully simplistic way of ‘humanising’ the monster that is Ebola in a way that children too, can understand. Besides being a plug for donations, I also learned the video is an example of a subreddit.

Now, I had a vague idea of what Reddit was; but this is the first I’ve heard of subreddits. In my layman terms, Reddit is a website that collates topical issues and news by users. Today, I further learned that a subreddit is “a sub-community (within reddit), each focused on a specific topic”, an example being the ‘Explain like I’m five’, which essentially consist of simplified explanations of complex topics – not all are in video form.

A word of caution though, although the reddit community is moderated by volunteers, not all that is posted should be taken as fact. It is always good practice to verify things on the internet from multiple sources, especially including those which you know would be reasonably reliable.

To end this post, I leave you with this inspiring project summary of two teenagers in America who won an ‘Explain Like I’m Five’ competition in their school:

 

Saneeya Qureshi © 2014

Leave a Reply

